Winners of the Welcome Initiative Award
April 9, 2021

The Society for Behavioral Neuroendocrinology is pleased to announce 24 winners of the Welcome Initiative Award. The award comes with free student membership to SBN for 2021 and registration to the 2021 Virtual Meeting of the SBN. The winners will be highlighted at the virtual meeting and on social media. We are excited to welcome each of them to our community.

  • Michaela Breach, The Ohio State University, USA
  • James Brown, Florida State University, Program in Neuroscience, USA
  • Christopher Guevara, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, USA
  • Coltan G. Parker, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Joshua Danoff, University of Virginia, USA
  • Thomas Degroat, Rutgers University, USA
  • Mélise Edwards, University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA
  • Yesenia Garcia, Emory University, USA
  • Jena Gewarges, University of Michigan, USA
  • James K Gibb, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Samuel Harp, North Carolina State University, USA
  • Jarildy L Javier, Emory University, USA
  • Janelle LeMon, Michigan State University, USA
  • Yellow Martin, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
  • Maria Meier, University of Constance, Germany
  • Melissa Rivas, Idaho State University, USA
  • Devin Rocks, Fordham University, USA
  • Itohan Roli Osahon, Edo State University Uzairue, Nigeria
  • Melody Salehzadeh, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Stephanie Salia, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
  • Norma Sandoval, UCLA, USA
  • Emma Shaughnessy, Georgia State University, USA
  • Stephanie Soriano, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Erica Williams, Georgia State University, USA

The Welcome Initiative seeks to broaden student membership in the SBN. The initiative was generously funded by members, who received hats knitted by Immediate-Past President Rae Silver for their donations. Thank you to Rae, to our members for supporting student memberships, and to DEI committee members Stephanie Correa, Kimberly D’Anna-Hernandez, Patricia Lopes, and Farrah Madison for selecting our winners.

Thanks again to those who contributed to this very worthy cause.

Barney Schlinger
SBN President