Initiated 2006 Awarded to a Senior Scientist (announced annually in Summertime)

Nominations are currently being accepted for the Daniel S. Lehrman Lifetime Achievement Award in Behavioral Neuroendocrinology. The deadline for submitting nominations is March 19, 2019.

2018 Award Winner: Jeff Blaustein

Dr. Jeff Blaustein: 2018 Awardee For The Daniel S. Lehrman Lifetime Achievement Award

SBN is pleased to announce that Dr. Jeff Blaustein has been selected as this year’s winner of SBN’s Daniel S. Lehrman Lifetime Achievement Award for a career of eminent scholarship in behavioral neuroendocrinology and a record of outstanding mentorship of future scientists.

Jeff Blaustein is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, Center for Neuroendocrine Studies, and Neuroscience and Behavior Program at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, where he also received his BS and PhD. He spent his basic research career studying the mechanisms of steroid hormone action on the brain, behavior, and mental health, and the influences of the environment and stressors on those actions in laboratory rodents. He is currently writing for breast cancer survivors and their oncologists about the important role that estrogens and antiestrogens have in the brain, on cognitive function, and on mental health. He is a past-president of the Society for Behavioral Neuroendocrinology (2011 – 2013). He served as Associate Editor and then Editor-in-Chief, of Endocrinology (2008 – 2012), and Associate Editor of Hormones and Behavior (2017 – 2018), and he is currently a reviewing editor of eNeuro and Associate Editor of the Journal of the Endocrine Society. He recently served on the Finance and Audit Committee of the Endocrine Society. At the University of Massachusetts Amherst, he received the Chancellor’s Medal (2012), Samuel S. Conti Faculty Fellowship (2013) and Convocation Research and Creativity Award (2016), and he received the Distinguished Alumni Award (2011) from the University Alumni Association. He was elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2014. He and his wife, Marilyn, and their cat, Abbie, still live in Amherst and Wellfleet, Massachusetts.

Past Winners of the Lehrman Lifetime Achievement Award

Year Winner
2018 Jeff Blaustein
2017 Jacques Balthazart
2016 Randy Nelson
2015 Rae Silver
2014 Michael J. Baum
2013 Alison Fleming
2012 David Crews
2011 Donald Pfaff
2010 Art Arnold
2009 Lyn Clemens
2008 Arnie Gerall
2007 Irv Zucker
2006 Jay Rosenblatt